The European Research Council (ERC) grant

As a center for scientific excellence, the Lautenberg center is proud of having 50% of its faculty members who received the European Research Council grant for research funding. 

Prof. Ofer Mandelboim is awarded with the Rappaport prize for established researcher

Prof Yinon Ben-Neriah received the prestigious EMET prize

“The EMET Prize is awarded to Prof. Yinon Ben-Neriah for his contribution to the understanding of signaling pathways in the immune system’s cells as well as the deciphering of irregular signaling systems in cancer cells, and for the deep systemic understanding that resulted from his research, which helped create a new approach to cancer treatment.” read more

The Young Israel Academy chose Prof. Rami Aqueilan as a new member!

Prof. Rami Aquilan is now a member of the Young Israel Academy, which aims to promote research and scientific capabilities and to help deal with challenges of national and international importance.


The 10th and 2019 Prize was recieved by Dr. Waleed Minzel (formerly Prof. Ben-Neriah lab) for his studies on acute myeloid leukemia

The Hans Wiener Award for excellent PhD thesis Yiska Weisblum

The Prize was awarded to Yiska Weisblum for her PhD studies under the supervision of Prof. Dana Wolf. Her translational studies of the transmission of congenital cytomegalovirus infection in a newly-established model of the human maternal-fetal interface, provide important  insights into the interplay between the virus and the maternal immunity in the placenta – which determine the clinical outcome of the infection in the fetus and the newborn.


The 8th James Sivartsen Prize in Pediatric Cancer Research was awarded at a special ceremony on June 1, 2017, attended by researchers and students from the Hebrew University and Hadassah Medical School.

The James Sivartsen Prize in Pediatric Cancer Research is awarded each year to a Hebrew University graduate student who is doing the most innovative work with application to the field of pediatric cancer research.

The Densen Family from Summit, New Jersey, longstanding supporters of the Lautenberg Research Center, established the prize in honor of their friend James Sivartsen who passed away in August 2003 at the age of 20, after a valiant struggle with rhabdomyosarcoma.

This year’s recipient was Mr. Ibrahim Omar, a PhD. student at the Hebrew University who works on acute lymphoblastic leukemia (ALL) which is the most common malignancy diagnosed in children. Ibrahim was recognized for his studies novel therapeutic targets which will specifically inhibit ALL development and progression in children. At the ceremony, Ibrahim gave a short presentation of his research.

Among the attendees were Michael and Carol Kurtz (Chairperson of the Board of the AFHU and long term friends of the Lautenberg Center), Michael and Tina Lobel, Arthur Gutterman and Jean Kohen.

Mr. Michael Kurtz and Prof. Eitan Yefenof presenting The Sivartsen Award to Mr Ibrahim Omar

Scroll to top
Skip to content